Om lilla och stora krisen

Man kan vara för höga ambitioner, tävlan och studiedisciplin utan att förespråka vare sig tvångsmässig drillning eller ett föräldraideal som för tankarna till ett slags familjediktatur.

Vägen mot kreativitet och lycka i livet går sällan genom en ensidig betoning på krav. Uppskruvade förväntningar riskerar snarare att skapa plågsamma besvikelser, när barnen senare misslyckas med målen eller känner sig kuvade
i sin utveckling.

Så långt skulle man kunna avfärda Amy Chuas essä som en antihumanistisk pamflett. Samtidigt vore det att göra det för enkelt för sig, eftersom hon också ringar in den prestationskris som många västerländska samhällen hamnat i. – Peter Wolodarski i DN idag

Hela texten finns på: http://www.dn.se/ledare/signerat/lilla-och-stora-krisen

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704111504576059713528698754.html?mod=WSJ_hp_us_mostpop_read

Här är en kommentar i WSJ

Here are some of the things that my four children of a Jewish mother were always allowed to do:

• Quit the piano and the violin, especially if their defeatist attitude coincided with a recital, thus saving me from the torture of listening to other people’s precious children soldier through hackneyed pieces of the juvenile repertoire, plink after ever more unbearable plonk.

• Sleep over at their friends’ houses, especially on New Year’s Eve or our anniversary, thus saving us the cost of a babysitter.

• Play on the computer and surf the Internet, so long as they paid for their Neopet Usuki dolls and World of Warcraft abomination cleavers out of their own allowances.

• Participate in any extracurricular activity they wanted, so long as I was never required to drive farther than 10 minutes to get them there, or to sit on a field in a folding chair in anything but the balmiest weather for any longer than 60 minutes.

• Quit said extracurricular activities, especially if their quitting coincided with league finals that might have demanded participation on my part exceeding the requirements stated above.

och

I am, actually, grateful to Ms. Chua, and a little in awe of her. I expend far too much of my maternal energies on guilt and regret. Reading her essay definitely put some Chinese iron into my Nerf Western spine, and though I eventually apologized to my daughter for failing to acknowledge, right off the bat, all those tough classes in which she had excelled last semester, and for expressing my disappointment at the others too vigorously, I have also refused to back down from my expectation that she devote extra time to those two subjects in which she is ”underperforming.”

Se: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748703333504576080422577800488.html?mod=WSJ_article_RecentColumns_TheSaturdayEssay

Jonathan Zhang: While reading this, I prayed that this was some kind of satire. As a Chinese-American teenager, I know this article is unrepresentative of Chinese parents. Sure, a lot of Chinese parents do put more emphasis on education, but a vast majority aren’t demonic and inhuman like Ms. Chua. Yes, they do let me go to sleepovers, and they didn’t slit my throat when I couldn’t play Rachmaninoff at age 5. – WSJ

Så är det även i Indien.

En reaktion på ”Om lilla och stora krisen

Kommentarer inaktiverade.